Can this damage my led?

Hi,

I have a simple setup of 2 IR leds like this:
They're both LD271, so 1.3V forward voltage and 130mA forward current. The last led's - goes to one of my digital ports so I can control it (using IRremote.) And the resistor is a 33ohm one, according to my calculations the minimum is 22, but 33 is the smallest I have.
So now I'm worried that maybe one of the leds might get damaged, because it's linked directly to the 5 volts. Is this true?

Note: I'm very new to Arduino and electrionics. I can do the programming, though the wiring is still very alien to me.

130 forward current.

130 what?

AWOL:
130 what?

130mA, I'll edit the main post too. The calculator I used wants it in mA, so I didn't think to add it here.

So now are you buffering this?

AWOL:
So now are you buffering this?

I'm pretty new to Arduino and electrics and don't really know what you mean. Though I'm going to say no.
I described my exact setup in the first post, there's nothing I left out to make the description shorter. So, 5v -> +first led -> -first led to +second -> -second to 33ohm 5V resistor -> Digital3

It isn't your LED you should be worrying about damaging.
An Arduino pin can source or sink an absolute maximum of 40mA.

AWOL:
It isn't your LED you should be worrying about damaging.
An Arduino pin can source or sink an absolute maximum of 40mA.

So this could be damaging my Arduino? :o
According to the calculation it's draining 130 mA, how much does the Arduino give (when using the 5V)? And how could I fix so it doesn't kill my Arduino?

Thanks!

Edit: Perhaps I should specify. Not sure it has anything to do with it, but I'm using an Arduino Uno.

how much does the Arduino give

See reply #5

AWOL:

See reply #5

Ok :stuck_out_tongue: So basecly no I'm not damaging my leds, nor my Arduino. Though since my setup wants 130mA it's getting less than a third of what it wants.