Motor shield advice request

Hi everyone - I'm a retired mechanical engineer and I have had a stroke that has left me with greatly reduced mental capacity. About a year I started an Arduino project and I'm just now trying to get back into it. I'm really struggling with my thought process and it appears to be a very steep up-hill battle. But it's wintertime and I'm stuck indoors so I'll try again.

There are many motor control shields on eBay and most of them are from China and may be very slow in shipping. I have found one http://www.ebay.com/itm/official-arduino-motor-shield-v3-/150991643509?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2327cda375 that may possibly be shipped from the USA.

I can see by my records that I have made purchases from Adafruit Industries in the past but I don't remember. I have made purchases from other vendors but I don't remember any of them.

So here are my questions . . .

Would you buy that motor shield on eBay? Would you go to Adafruit for one? Can you make recommendations?

Thanks guys.

P.S. Please read this post very slowly as it took me FOREVER to type it. :roll_eyes:

Adafruit are a very good site to go with - its run as a cottage industry by people who really care, and
they have a high standard of documentation and support (Arduino libraries for many of the products
complete with detailed instructions). They have a forum / forums too.

Choice of motor shield does depend on the motor you want to drive, and the use you want to put it to,
so its hard to be definite without that information.

The ebay shield may or may not be a true Arduino one (there are many copies being sold), but it
is a popular design so it should also be easy to get support here.

Though I think I'd stick with my first suggestion as Adafruit will provide support and help which is
probably as valuable to you as any other feature.

OK thanks MarkT.

Can anybody else help me? Thanks.

PlayStationFarm: