Really need help with what is probably very simple IR emitter/receiver question

Hey,

Bought this: Photo Interrupter - GP1A57HRJ00F - SEN-09299 - SparkFun Electronics trying to measure RPM. I can handle the code on my own (probably) but I'm trying to put together a simple circuit to just test that I have everything plugged in right first.
According to the diagram, the anode on the emitter (positive like an LED, right?) is opposite the GROUND pin on the receiver, and then what I'm confused about is what the heck the middle pin is used for on the receiver. In the diagram, which I find a little unclear, it seems that the middle is v0, and the other pin is Vcc. I'm not sure what these mean to be honest, I'm new to electronics, but I think of them as the positive side.
I put together this circuit (or tried) http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Based-Optical-Tachometer/?ALLSTEPS
Unfortunately, it won't work. The LED never pops on when I interrupt the optointerrupter beam, and I count 0rpm forever. Please, please help. I'm at my wit's end ;p

Here's my take:

PIN
1 -- Anode of the of the LED -- Attach a 330ohm current-limiting resistor to +V
2 -- Cathode of the LED -- Attach to GND
3 -- Vcc -- Attach to +V
4 -- Vo -- attach to Arduino digital pin configured as an input (no need for internal pull-up resistor)
5 -- Gnd -- Attach to ground

Pin 4 should go low / high as the beam is interrupted

Hi Prism,

Looking at the data sheet you provided, and specifically the schematic on the first page, it seems that this works as follows... (someone correct me if I'm way off)

Pin 3 goes to Vcc (your power supply, probably 5V from an arduino, check the data sheet to see what the actual specifications are)

Pin 5 goes to your ground