Driving a piezo loudly!

Hi all!

I'm rather new to electronics, and i'm working on building an alarm. However i can't seem to figure out how to push my piezo to be louder. Currently i've hacked one of these 'cheap' personal alarms that can be bought at the hardware store and pulled out the piezo. Before doing so i measured 40v across the piezo from a mere 4.5 volts battery. I have many failed tries on trying different circuits to boost the power, using all sorts of different methods. Where i'm currently at i use an inductor and transistor like so:

wired up using:

• Arduino Nano
  • BC550c transistor
  • 100uH inductor
  • 20mm piezo

Setup as shown on attachment.

The inductor and piezo is in the 5v output of the arduino.

When i measure across the piezo i get around 3.3v

Any idea what i'm doing wrong? How do i increase the volume/voltage across the piezo?

Thanks a lot in advance!

/ Daniel

Well the 10mH choke has a much better chance of resonating in the audio band than a tiny 100uH...
Using component values a hundred-fold out isn't normally successful.

MarkT:
Well the 10mH choke has a much better chance of resonating in the audio band than a tiny 100uH...
Using component values a hundred-fold out isn't normally successful.

Thanks for the reply Mark!

(Correct me if i'm wrong) As i understand it, the resonance of the inductor is what can produce a higher voltage, right? - So the aim for me to increase the sound-pressure of the piezo would be to find an inductor that resonates at the exact same frequency as i would like the piezo to? (for instance 4kHz) so when i use
tone(3,4000,1500) in my arduino-code i'm not resonating the inductor at the correct frequency? That makes sense, and i've bumped into this before. However i don't understand how on earth i'm to find the correct frequency for the inductor to increase the voltage?

Can you point me in a direction?

Best regards
/ Daniel