Odd-shaped led matrix

I was wondering if it was at all possible to create an led matrix in the shape of a triangle using normal multiplexing. I'm fairly new to arduino and I have had no problem making an 8x6 matrix with a 4017 Decade counter and 74hc595 shift register. But for my project I don't need a rectangle, I simply need a triangle shape that I can program
O
OOO
OOOOO
OOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOO <--something like that

Just so that I don't have to waste more LEDs filling in the unused blank spots

Would I just build it like normal and program it like, (B0,B000,B00000,B0000000,B000000000); or would that not work

Any input/help is greatly appreciated! Thanks

yea it should be the same, you have 25 led's though so your basicilly adding a whole shift register and byte of code to drive the 1 extra LED, maybe just use a transistor for that top one and its own pin

Beautiful! That's a good idea instead of adding another chip. Thanks for the quick reply too btw:)

let me ask you, are you planning on addressing each individual LED to make animations, or are you just making a scroll effect like on a beer pong table or pinball machine

if its the latter you can greatly simplify it

I'm going to be making up individual frames in an excel sheet that I made up and then have the program cycle through the frames to make up an animation, if you got any ideas on how to make things more simple, I'm all ears... Or I guess on a computer, all eyes!

Maybe take one half of the triangle and wire it upside down. That way you can make full use of the multiplex, no wasted columns on any of the rows or vice versa. It would add a bit of complication to your code, but you could still deal with it in a way that it wouldn't affect how you make each frame in your spreadsheet.

Maybe there's a smarter, less complicated way to do it... But basically my point is you could fine something to keep from wasting those unused pins...

multi.gif