Feasibility of F & P Motor @ 1 rp hour

Dear Ardunio Gurus

I'm hoping a brave soul might offer an opinion or alternate for a design concept I'm working on.

Moneys too tight to mention but fortunately I have some time.

I am a reasonable confident programmer
– (fools rush in) and have good basic electrical skills but I am not trained in electronics and struggle when things get too technical.
PC power supply 5 & 12 volt
Ardunio 5 volts
Ardunio can control an AC SSR to turn on 240 volt or a DC SSR can be used to switch on DC.

I'm involved with an amateur theatre group and have accidently volunteered to create a prop for a theatre production.

The prop involves the horizontal rotation of a mass with a diameter of about 2.8m
Weighing about 25kgs at about 1 rev per hour forwards then back. (No lifting just rotation.) So say 360 clockwise then 360 anticlockwise.

I did a similar job a couple of years ago using small geared AC motor rotating an arm that connected to the prop about 200 mm out from the centre of the prop.

Down side of this was
mechanical jams,
broken gear boxes,
not 360,
fairly expensive motor gearbox combo,
no way to vary the speed.

So I started thinking hmm . . stepper motor.

Then I got gifted a Fisher & Paykel Smart Drive Motor out of a washing machine.
The Smart Drive Motor is basically a 3 phase Brushless DC motor.
Check this

Moving on
Silicon Chip did an article
Converting The F&P SmartDrive for Use As A... Motor

http://archive.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_112762/article.html

and if you click on the pic in the bottom right of the page and scroll thru the pages you get a table titled
Six step commutation sequence with Hall Effect outputs.

Coil Input
A+B-
A+C-
B+C-
B+A-
C+A-
C+B-
And respective Hall Outputs

So the plan is to buy 6 DC SSR’s (not pretty but. . .) A+,A-,B+,B-,C+,C-

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Solid-State-Relay-SSR-DC-DC-10A-3-32VDC-5-220VDC-/300553670794?pt=AU_B_I_Electrical_Test_Equipment&hash=item45fa65108a

And an Ardunio Mega