SENSING MOVEMENT FROM ROTATION

Im tryin find a sketch that can determine if a machine is moving or not. Seems quite simple but to me Im having problems with debouncing and reseting counters etc. Im new to this stuff.

I have a shaft rotation speed of up to 500rpm and have a reed (prox) switch (NOpen) + UNO. [+new wifi sheild +cosm]

I would would like to write a variable to 1 = moving or 0 = not moving, from criterion like rpm < 10 = not moving etc

So when using a cosm feed I can check the history of when the machine was working or no.

Ive tried using rpm counters but they seem to have bounce probs and also seem to not register the zero rotation to the wifi feeds Ive set up to cosm.

Can anyone help me with this sketch please.

Can anyone help me with this sketch please.

No, because we haven't seen it. Don't forget to use the code tags (# button in the editor) when posting it.

Ok the first sketch Ive trialed

volatile byte rpmcount;

unsigned int rpm;

unsigned long timeold;

void setup()
 {
   Serial.begin(9600);
   attachInterrupt(0, rpm_fun, RISING);

rpmcount = 0;
   rpm = 0;
   timeold = 0;
 }

void loop()
 {
   if (rpmcount >= 20) { 
     //Update RPM every 20 counts, increase this for better RPM resolution,
     //decrease for faster update
     rpm = 30*1000/(millis() - timeold)*rpmcount;
     timeold = millis();
     rpmcount = 0;
     Serial.println(rpm,DEC);
   }
 }

void rpm_fun()
 {
   rpmcount++;
   //Each rotation, this interrupt function is run twice
 }

This doesnt seem to give the correct rpm, (Im using 1 magnet) and not sure why the function rpm_fun() runs twice (giving 30,000)

When inserting this in "wifi sheild code" for posting to cosm it doesnt output zero rpm when wheel is not spinning. Somehow I think the 10sec wifi output only refers to the last known rpm reading.

Anyway the second sketch I trialled here,

// this constant won't change:
const int  buttonPin = 2;    // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to