Servo over Cat5?

Hi, Just a quick one.

Would it be safe to power a smallish (I think) servo over Cat5 cable?
I hope that's not too vague.

The max length would be no more than five metres.

The servos are Acoms AS-17. I've tried to find a datasheet for the servos, but with no luck.
They would not be doing anything heavy, just panning and tilting a very small camera about the size of a webcam

I'm a newbie to all this so any help at all will be greatly received.

Thanks
Paul

You'd probably be okay. You're not talking amps of current, right?
Cat 5 cable is 26 guage wire?
You can look up current carrying capability of wire & voltage loss over distance online.

Cat5 is 24 guage, I am pretty sure that would handle the current for a servo ok.
At worst, you can double up the wires. Wikipedia says
Maximum current per conductor 0.577 A
So if you needed an amp, run 2 wires together.

Check these numbers also

I forgot who mentioned this to me on the forum but there is more resistance on the crimped wire like RJ45 than other types of connection, maybe screw terminals, and definitely more resistance than soldered wires.

To reduce contact resistance, you can use multiple wires in the RJ45 cable to pass power and gnd. Say you only need to control one servo motor, then you can chain 3 wires of the RJ45 together to pass power, 3 wires together to pass gnd, and 2 together to pass sensor.

If you plan to run both sensor and power down the same wire, you should put some filter capacitors between the power and gnd, to prevent the power to couple with sensor. In a project I did last weekend, I had to put a 1uF cap for my sonic ranger to work on 12ft of phone cord.

Thanks guys, really appreciate the help.

It seems like what i need to do should be fine.

Regarding the contact resistence issue, i will probably be soldering the connections.
I am not using leads and sockets, I just have a box of Cat5e that someone gave me.

With the eight cores i can do the following: