Programmer not responding

Hi.. I'm quite new to Arduino (2 days working with it) but very experienced in electronics and microcontrollers.

I have a Uno board connected to an iMac via USB and all was working well (have been developing my code for a couple of days now and have programmed the board and moved it to the target environmnenrt maybe 50 times. Was very happy with the hardware and software.

Until a few minutes ago when I started to get the message .. avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding .. when trying to load the board. And now nothing I do seems to be able to get it working again (I've gone back to the 'blink' example to see if I can get that going again but so far, no success).

When I press reset, the LED blink 3 times very quickly (same when I first plug in the USB).
When I try to upload the board, there is no obvious LED activity.

I've tried hitting reset while attempting to upload but to no avail.
I've also tried a different USB port on the Mac.

Problem seem to start when I forgot to plug in the USB to the Uno when doing an upload and maybe connected it partway through an upload.

I've tried powering the Mac on and off but no change. Have checked the Mac USB ports with an iPhone and they are fine.

Any suggestions please ? My project was going so well and I was singing praises of Arduino to all my friends and then this happened !

Ron

Apologies ... problem fixed ... needed to reselect the serial port from tools->serial port menu. Seems that the driver drops off the board if it finds that it is isn't there at any time it tries to communicated with it.

Panic over .. back to having fun.

Good news: Thanks for saving me the trouble of writing pretty much the exactly same email.
Bad news: I haven't got a solution for you - yet at least :frowning: