Midi Auduino For Newby

Hi Guys,

With the failure of a midi input device to my PC I have been looking around for something to replace it.

There are a few that are UNO based but to me appear expensive. I have subsequently found out that not many of these retail offerings have native midi over usb support. A stamp and/or 'flip' firmware being required because of the differing baud rates midi - usb etc.

I have since learnt that the AVR ATmega32U4 chip has native support for midi over usb so am looking to use one of these in my project. So for my first go at using this device can anybody suggest a decent quality Midi library for me to upload. 6 analog ins, 14 digital ins note names and cc's imaterial as can asign in pc daw.

As I said a total newby so go gentle with me pse!

Thanks

Have a look at my MIDI Controller library. It does everything you need.
It supports pretty much any Arduino or Teensy board, however, Teensy boards or Arduino boards with native USB support (e.g. Leonardo) are much easier to use. If you want to use an Uno or Mega, you'll need to flash custom MIDI firmware, which is very cumbersome.
Read more here.

Pieter

Yes use a Leonardo or Micro and that can simply be used to look like a MIDI input / output device from your computer.
Use this GitHub - rkistner/arcore: MIDI-USB Support for Arduino

can anybody suggest a decent quality Midi library for me to upload. 6 analog ins, 14 digital ins note names and cc's imaterial as can asign in pc daw.

No need for any libiary to do that, it is not the sort of thing MIDI libraries do.

Grumpy_Mike:
Yes use a Leonardo or Micro and that can simply be used to look like a MIDI input / output device from your computer.
Use this GitHub - rkistner/arcore: MIDI-USB Support for Arduino

No need for any special cores. Arcore hasn't been updated for 2 years now.
Just use the MIDIUSB library.

Pieter

Hi Guys,

Many thanks for your comments. Would this be suitable?