Arduino with 12 servos

I am planning to use my Duemilanove with 12 servos (which should be possible?). I am a noob when it comes to Arduino and electronics but I have come to understand that in order to do so I must feed the servos with an external power source. Is this correct? If so then can I just connect them directly to a battery or do I need to build a power circuit (voltage regulator, capacitors etc.)? If so how do I do that most efficiently? Like what capacitors to use etc.? Perhaps a circuit diagram..? :slight_smile:

I also realized that the cables will get quite messy with the current pin setup on the board, so I wanna make a mini servo shield that turns my Duemilanove into a sort of RoboDuino.

www.curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

So (with the help of a class mate) I will make a PCB with pins on them, on one side to plug into Duemilanoves I/O's + Ground, and on the other side having tripple pins (signal, power, ground) for the servos.

Here is a quick and dirty drawing:

www.uploadgeek.com/share-3730_4A98A137.html

I understand that the external ground must be connected to the Arduino ground, right?

Is this a viable idea at all?

.......:.. Aniss

The servos are designed to run off batteries, so powering them from one will be fine, as long as you pick the right voltage (e.g., 4 or 5 NiMH cells in series).

Yes, you need to connect the grounds.

If you're going to have many servos moving simultaneously, make sure the power traces on that PCB are nice and fat, especially if they're "heavy duty" models: people are often surprised by how much current they can draw.

Make sure you research people's experience with running many servos at once, because you'll need to use the software-generated servo output library. I've only used a couple at a time, so I don't know whether there might be surprises for you running 12.

Ran

Thanks for the input :slight_smile: