Help getting started on Telescope focuser idea..

Hello all,

I am very new to the Arduino and also these pages. I have not done any programming before so I am diving in feet first and am hoping some of you may be able to help.

I have not bought an Arduino board yet but plan to on advice from you guys..

My project idea is, I hope, a simple idea but I do need help on getting started. I plan on using an Ardrino board and a Linistepper v2 board to drive a 6 wire unipolar stepper motor to drive a telescope focuser. I may be pointing in the wrong direction but, this is the way I see it working.

What I would like to see is having two momentary push buttons for inward and outward movement of the focuser, or as it would be, the forward and reverse directions of the motor. I would also like to see some way of changing from slow speed few steps per second to fast. with full forward and backward movements.

I think from reading, I can use the +5v line on the Arduino board to drive the linistepper by connecting it to pin 9 on the board, but also use an external supply for the steppers, I think I used 12v on my last linistepper project. I think I would need to connect the direction and step lines to pins 1 and 2 of the digital side of the Arduino, is this correct so far? With the speed changing this could be a single push button or on off switch to select between fast and slow, but not sure how I could connect this to the board.

From here I am at a blank as I do not know enough about the arduino (I am still reading up on it) I still have to work on a sketch to control the motor from the arduino (which I am hoping someone has already one the hard work and has some code I could use as a foundation for the project) I also need to know which Arduino to use, from what I see there are several different packages available. I was basing my ideas on the Arduino UNO R3. Would this be suitable?