I want to build an autonomous GPRS weather station

Hello,

my name is Daniel and i'm new to Arduino. I live in Zagreb, Croatia, Europe. I'm a student of aerospace engineering and for my college project i would like to build a autonomous unattended weather station which sends weather data over a

GSM network in user defined intervals (every 10min or so) and feeds it to a web page. I would also like to be able to change this interval if i need to. The station should use a solar panel for power and i would also fit it with an extra

battery for backup.

I came to this idea when i went hang gliding the other day. We spent 4 hrs to get to our flying location only to return home after spending 2 hrs waiting for the winds to calm, but no luck. I will quote a paragraph from the Arduino book

"Practical Arduino - Cool Projects for Open Source Hardware" which describes exactly what i want to do:

Private Online Weather Station
Just outside Melbourne, Australia, a group of hang glider pilots is currently investigating installing one of these systems near a favorite but remote launch location that unfortunately has no local weather service. By installing their

own weather station nearby and feeding the data to a web service such as Pachube, Watch My Thing, or even just to Twitter, they can easily access historical and real-time weather data at the

launch location before they leave home, potentially saving them a three-hour drive only to discover that conditions aren't suitable and then driving another three hours home again. Setting up the project as a cooperative venture and

splitting the cost between a number of pilots means the cost to each individual is very low. Just one wasted trip would cost more in fuel than contributing to a share in their own personal weather station.

Is there any way i could get in touch with those people? I would like to know if they had done it and how they do it?