Interfacing an Altimeter that has Serial Output

I have a question, I have no experience with inputing data from hardware. So, in the user manual of the PerfectFlite Stratto Logger Altimeter, under the 'Telemetry output' section:

The StratoLogger has an on-board data connector that is used for real time data output during flight using the telemetry feature

Serial port settings should be configured for 9,600BPS, 8 data bits, no parity, and 1 stop bit. Output data format from the altimeter is ASCII text based, with a and character appended to the end of each line.

When telemetry data is selected to start “OnLaunch”, all data will be AGL (above ground level) altitudes:
198 {all data points are AGL altitude}

So I was hoping that some of you could kinda guide me on the part of getting the data into the altimeter. Specially on the part of 9600BPS and 8 data bits, no party and 1 stop bit. What does this all mean

I also don't quite understand that 'the format of the altimeter is ASCII text based'. According to Arduino Reference - Arduino Reference , ASCII is used to encode text into numerical values, but an altimeter does not measure in letters, it measures in numbers (feet or meters)...

If you are reading this and can help in anything of the above it will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Insert
Serial.begin(9600);
in void setup. Default settings are 8 data bits, 1 stop bit, no parity. Check out RS232 at wikipedia.com for an explanation of serial data transfers.

Check out asciitable.com

If you were to look at the data actually transmitted, you would see 5 bytes of hex code for every line above. The 1, 9, 8, , all
have a hex equivelent, your arduino will receive and those and make decisions as to what to do with the data.
198 would come out as 0x31 0x39 0x38 0x0D 0x0A, where 0x signifies hex data.

So you would have your code look for data, something like this

if (Serial.available()>0){ // did at least 6 bytes come in?