I need a Project

I am going to be doing A2 computing next year. I was told I needed a project to do that year so I am thinking now on what I want to do.

The project would need a lot of coding (not necessarily really professional coding but a lot of it).

My teacher told me that someone is building a security camera project.
Basically it pans the room until it detects some movement then centers on that. It can also be controlled via internet/remote.

What I want to do is something similar in complexity. Can you please post ideas, basic cost of parts and resources needed.

BTW I have never used ARDUINO before but I have a whole year and 1/2 to do the project.

Thanks...

Basically it pans the room until it detects some movement then centers on that

Not an easy one to crack.
You have to figure a way of detecting movement in a moving scene.
Very, very tricky, even with a powerful processor, all but impossible with an itty-bitty microcontroller.

I dont think its going to use a micro controller to process the movement. He said he was going to create a program in java to do that.
Hes just using the basic arduino kit to make the camera move. All the other processes are done by a real PC

Yes, you can use the Arduino to control the servo(s) that do the pan and tilt, them use a computer and openCv to do the image processing part.

Java or C, spotting movement in a moving scene is no easy task.

AWOL:
Java or C, spotting movement in a moving scene is no easy task.

Yes but we have some help from an expert programmer (help as in he answers questions not does the work)

just a reminder thats another students project. I need an idea for mine :smiley:

You can capture at something like 30fps, and simply move the servo, grab a few frames, do your thing to see if there is movement, them move the servo another degree or two and rinse and repeat.

Thanks for the input guys but i still need a project