Ethernet shield not allowing repeated connections

Hello all,

I'm having some trouble getting my new Ethernet Shield to make repeated connections to a php script hosted on my server.

I'm just starting out using the ethernet shield, and found some code at another post that looked like a decent starting point.

(My code will attached in the next post, as the forums won't let me include URLs in my first post)

the result from the serial window:

connecting...
connected
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Wed, 26 Nov 2008 15:50:47 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.3 (Debian) PHP/5.2.0-8+etch11
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.0-8+etch11
Content-Length: 27
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

/nd101 /c1001 1 2 3 4   /et
disconnecting.
connecting...
connected
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Wed, 26 Nov 2008 15:51:06 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.3 (Debian) PHP/5.2.0-8+etch11
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.0-8+etch11
Content-Length: 27
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

/nd101 /c1001 1 2 3 4   /et

At this point, it just hangs -- indefinitely.

It always connects twice, gets the proper result, and then hangs.
Also, there is a delay of approximately 20 seconds between the printing of the first request ending and the printing of "disconnecting".

Also, if I press the reset button on the shield immeadately after the the first request is returned there is no hanging, and I can continue dozens of times with no troubles.

So, where to start looking for the trouble ?

Incidentally, the included web_client example will hang on "connecting.." if I press the reset button to restart the arduino. If I disconnect it from the power instead of pressing the reset button, no problems.

Ultimately, I'm looking to send a request to my script every few seconds and parse the response. So, if there is a better way to start working at this, I'm all ears.

Many thanks for any advice!

My code (as promised):

#include <Ethernet.h>

byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
byte ip[] = { 192,168,0,51 };
byte server[] = {212,13,194,29};