midi footswitch - 12 in 5 out?

I'm an ardunio novice and after a few trial experiments, have the basics of input & output. I now want to build a specific midi controller for my echoplex digital pro looper. I have the midi output scripted and working, but I need to put together the inputs & led outputs for 12 switches and 5 indicator LEDs. Does the attached image seem a sensible approach? It would be nice to use fewer switch inputs, but not if this requires a lot of extra decoding script. I have to balance coding complexity with soldering complexity!

Am I correct in thinking I can use 5 analog pins for the led outputs?

All help gratefully appreciated!

Yes you can use the analog pins as digital outs (they number 14 upto 19 in calls to digitalWrite())

You would save pins by having the switches in a matrix - it sounds like these are configuration switches (not just push-buttons) so the matrix would need a diode per switch (there are probably examples in the playground for doing this). You are using D1 for a switch which will interfere with serial protocol for downloading sketches - move this to A0 perhaps? If you do connect a switch to D1 (TX) then have a 1k series resistor to prevent burning out the pin when its being used as an output (the bootloader does this on reset).

MarkT:
You would save pins by having the switches in a matrix - it sounds like these are configuration switches (not just push-buttons) so the matrix would need a diode per switch

No, they are just hon-latching push buttons - I need to send "long" signals (ie sustained footpress) some aspects of the looper respond differently depending on the length of the signal.

I've been reading about diodes in this manner, yet to find an example using the exact number I need - is there a generic approach to arranging into a matrix?

Thanks Mark....

is there a generic approach to arranging into a matrix?

Yes, it is a matrix with rows and columns as many of each as you need.