Simultaneous pulse counter inputs

How many pulse counter inputs does an Arduino w/Atmega328P support? The ATmega328P spec. sheet mentions two 8-bit and one 16-bit counter. To a novice like me, this implies 3 counters. Can these 3 counters be used simultaneously to count the pulses from three different sensors? I've read reports online that only 2 counters are supported in this fashion, but I am confused by the spec. sheet's claim. I recall a few sources mentioning there being only two "interrupt-based counters". I'm very new to the Arduino, so any clarification on this would be much appreciated. I am assuming that these interrupt counters are hardware controlled counters. Can software controlled counters be used? I've seen many different functions in which users have performed pulse counting, but I am lacking a general overview of the benefits and disadvantages of each method. Can somebody enlighten me?

As for my application, I am working on a BTU meter for hot water heating (production) and consumption. The hot water in this case is for home heating, not personal consumption (like from the shower tap). I need to collect flow rate data from 3 flow meters (1 flow meter is for the produced BTUs, the other 2 are for spent heat BTUs). I also need to collect data from 6 temperature sensors (thermistors in this case). It is fairly straight-forward to read thermistor data from the ADC of the Arduino, and as such, I am more concerned with the number of pulse counter inputs.