Go Down

Topic: Interfacing arduino sensors with PC/Laptop (Read 4507 times) previous topic - next topic

xs2ahmed

Hi there,
I am a C/C++ , Java , .Net desktop app developer and I am new to arduino and please excuse me if this question sounds stupid.

What my current understanding of arduino is that we can write C/C++ program in arduino IDE and push them to the arduino rom and then the arduino micro-controller runs it and controls the attached hardware to the pins and we are limited by microcontroller''s computing power.

My situation is this. I am interested in using different sensors that are available for arduino and attach them to PC/Laptop. and have my program running on PC itself which communicates with sensors. My setup should not be bound by microcontroller's processing and memory limiations like CPU /RAW because I want programs to run on PC as they'd be doing data/cpu intensive tasks..

So in this situation, do I still need to attach arduino board to my PC ? or is there a way to connect sensor's though some bridge to my PC ?

Please advise me on this..

Thank you,

arduinoadrian

Yes you can use Arduino as the bridge between the PC and the sensors. There are other bridges also; but you can definetlely use Arduino for that purpose exactly the way you are describing.
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,70123.msg770737.html#msg770737

robtillaart

d please excuse me if this question sounds stupid.

questions are never stupid, not asking them is ....

The max baudrate I got reliable between an Arduino and PC was 345600 baud. Faster than the IDE.serial monitor supports.

So in this situation, do I still need to attach arduino board to my PC ? or is there a way to connect sensor's though some bridge to my PC ?

You may use
- serial
- rs485 (shield)
- XBEE
- ethernet shield, wired or wifi shield
- I2C

so there are different options to connect to your PC.