Motor

Hi folks ! I am very new to this great platform i have programming experience but my electronic knowledge is very vague...but i want to learn so here is my first question for you.

I have a small motor from a kids toy car i tested it and it runs on 3 V and higher . I got to this result by connecting it to different voltages if there is a way i can find at what tenssion a component operates please tell me.
Ok so i want to connect this motor to my arduino it has 2 wires :slight_smile: where do i put them and i understood by reading a book that i need to set a diode but i don't know where i must put that diode and what kind of diode so if you can explain me more i will be grateful.

Thanks

The arduino cannot provide enough current to power a motor by its self; if you try, you will burn it out. Instead, you can use a transistor to turn on the motor, or an h-bridge to allow you to reverse the motor:

http://itp.nyu.edu/physcomp/Labs/DCMotorControl (H-bridge)
Arduino Playground - HomePage (Swap the solenoid for a motor, and it should work).

Onions.

I am very confused arduino doesn't output 5 V ? If my motors runs on 3 V why i need to use an external power source ?

Arduino pins do output 5V, but they give a VERY maximum current of 40mA (safer to assume 20mA though). Draw any more and you will need to replace the ATmega - you'll have burned it out. Motors take varying ammounts of current, but usually they draw a minimum of 0.25A; that is 250mA, 12.5 times more current than the safe maximum. That will destroy the arduino.

Onions.

Got it thanks very much

opc0de:
I have a small motor from a kids toy car i tested it and it runs on 3 V and higher . I got to this result by connecting it to different voltages if there is a way i can find at what tenssion a component operates please tell me.