Go Down

Topic: why do I have to close & re-open port between bytes (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

RustyShackleford

Dec 11, 2017, 08:34 pm Last Edit: Dec 11, 2017, 10:20 pm by RustyShackleford
[See the code several posts later].

Hi, I am completely new to Arduino, though not to programming and hardware ... I am having a problem that I think can be described in a couple of sentences and answered simply (if I'm wrong, I'll post my code):

My sketch is trying to read 2 bytes at a time from the USB to UART serial port.    I am sending the two bytes using a Perlscript (under OSX Unix terminal).   Unless the Perlscript closes and re-opens the serial port between writing the 2 bytes, the sketch does not see any but the first byte.   I have added a 100ms delay between sending the 2 bytes.

Bewildered.   TIA.

Delta_G

The behavior of a program is dictated by the code you have written for it.  I don't know what you think anyone can do without the code. 
|| | ||| | || | ||  ~Woodstock

Please do not PM with technical questions or comments.  Keep Arduino stuff out on the boards where it belongs.

UKHeliBob

Guess what ?

We will need to see the Arduino code so that we know what you are doing.
Please do not send me PMs asking for help.  Post in the forum then everyone will benefit from seeing the questions and answers.

sterretje

Dec 11, 2017, 08:40 pm Last Edit: Dec 11, 2017, 08:41 pm by sterretje
Post your code, Arduino side and the Perl side as well.

Don't forget to use code tags [code]and [/code]
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

Delta_G

Here is the sketch (sorry, I do not see the button for code-tags):