Object Detector- Camer & Arduino to give sound

I need some help with a upcoming project I want to do.

What I basically want to do is create a Object Detector using arduino. I want a camera to recognize a object such as a car or human and a speaker would say it. So the camera detects a car and the speaker says "car".

What hardware components might I need to use ?

I have in mind to use;

-Xbee modules
-Arduino Board
-Wave Shield(Adafruit Industries)
-TSL1401 Linescan Imaging Sensor Daughterboard(Parallax)
-CMOS Camera Module(SparkFun)

Thank You.

You haven't said what you're going to use for the object recognition.
Processing?

If you're going to rely on the Arduino, the best you can probably expect it to say is "object"

Well Sir I am planning to use an arduino along with a wave shield.

How much programming experience do you have?

Not much. I am relatively new to Arduino. But I have done a course in Programming (Pascal). I do know Basic quite well but Processing may be a challenge.

And image processing experience?

None at all. :frowning:

I think this program; roborealm can assist with image processing.

And you've got experience using RoboRealm?
Where is RoboRealm running, and how does it get images?

If it sounds like I'm being negative, I'm just trying to get you to think about the possible role the Arduino might have in this.

Assume you've decided on RoboRealm to do the image capture and image processing.
That also assumes you've got a platform capable of generating or replaying sounds.

Remind me, what is the Arduino doing in all of this?

I don't have much experience working with roborealm.

This is a flow chart of what i am hoping to do;

Camera Detects Object(Camera hooked up to Arduino)------->Xbee transmits data to a PC-------->Computer Recognizes Object-------> Transmits data to Arduino--------->Speakers Says what Object is.

Its just a draft for now. Just to give an idea as to what there is to accomplish.