Display speed. Code written but dissappointed with my efforts

Background.

I'm a licensed radio amateur. I built a complete short wave transceiver using a Mega and a 16 x 2 lcd display. In it's present form it works great, tuning well onscreen with the frequency digits etc changing with nothing untoward. All switching working as it should. Great.

Now. I decided to make it more up to date and use a Mega with a 3.5 inch mcufriend shield. I used Adafruit GFX and Mcufriend kbv libraries for the shield which reported as 4381. All works.

I have spent many hours designing the onscreen code on a spare Mega and the same screen without connecting it to any external controls. Just doing the layout onscreen took ages to get the co-ordinates right.

I wish however I had tested the simple part first !! That is to say the frequency digit change.

When I finally hooked up a rotary encoder for frequency tuning I was extremely dissappointed to discover the 'draw' rate was so slow it had a completely discernable change screen write. I had a small frequency rectangle displaying the digits which obviously needed an overwrite each time the digit changed to get a clear display.

I tried code that just only did the frequency part with no other code in the ino. Still the same. That's when I discovered it wasn't the code as I thought, but the display that couldn't refresh fast enough compared to a simple lcd display !

The pic is of the screen during design. The black line test rectangle around the digits is the area I am refreshing to keep the rewrite speed as tight as possible. I have tried a simple ino with just the frequency change code and just the digits onscreen. It is still slow.

The point of all this is to ask if there is a better display that can handle this.

Have I used the wrong libraries? Is it just not possible, am I asking too much of these simple displays?

Any sensible suggestions would be welcome.

Rob