Lockuino - Digital combination lock

I wanted to boost security on my shed door, and what better way with an Arduino-powered combination lock?

The pictorial build log for this project can be found over here: Mini project: Keypad mount The main emphasis on that thread is the machining work...

Fortunately, the combination lock code is very simple. Mark Stanley & Alexander Brevig already created the Matrix Keypad code (Arduino Playground - Keypad Library), so all I needed to do was modify their code a little to parse the keyboard in the way I wanted; and to add the code which builds the combinations up & tests them.

The code is ugly... it's my first effort at Arduino code, and whilst I've been a BASIC programmer (up to & including MS Visual Basic.NET), C has always remained slightly out of reach... Lucky the Arduino's version of C doesn't seem to have any of the mega-steep learning curve associated with regular C (or C++)... not that my string handling is very elegant. e.g. How could I improve it to cope with variable-length codes?

The code exceeds the max posting size, so I'll have to split it over 2 posts... here's part 1:

/* @file Combination_Lock.pde
|| @version 1.0
|| @author Ade Vickers
|| @contact javickers@solutionengineers.com
||
|| @description
|| | Based on keypad.h amongst others. Drive a combination lock
|| | using a 16-key keypad. Secret codes are hard-coded below.
|| |
|| | Thanks to Alexander Brevig/Mark Stanley for the Keypad library
|| #
*/
#include <Keypad.h>
#include <Servo.h>

// Define keyboard
const byte ROWS = 4; //four rows
const byte COLS = 4; //four columns
char keys[ROWS][COLS] = {
  {'1','2','3','A'},
  {'4','5','6','B'},
  {'7','8','9','C'},
  {'*','0','#','D'}
};
byte rowPins[ROWS] = {6,7,8,9};                 //connect to the row pinouts of the keypad
byte colPins[COLS] = {2,3,4,5};                 //connect to the column pinouts of the keypad
Keypad keypad = Keypad( makeKeymap(keys), rowPins, colPins, ROWS, COLS );