Go Down

Topic: USB/SD Write Blocker (Read 2374 times) previous topic - next topic

AriosYonsen

Please let me know if I've got this in the wrong place, but I'm trying to make a write blocker as an interface for a USB or SD card and I was wondering if it could be done with Arduino.  Please understand that I'm completely new to this and likely won't understand something too in-depth without a bit of hand holding.

AriosYonsen

So, after about a week with no response I think it's safe to say that no one has a distinct answer. Well, only one thing for it then. I'll post what I do to find out whether it's possible in this thread, if that's alright, and would appreciate any feedback if there's a better way to do any part of it. The end product will be slim enough to be used with most USB ports and will essentially be plug and play. Any ideas where to begin?

AriosYonsen

Well, slow progress so far, and it occurs to me that this now being project documentation there's probably somewhere better to put it, so could one of the staff let me know where they would want it put and how to move it, please?

On a related note, I've been informed that I might get a more positive response if I share the purpose of the original question. I've known a few startup computer technicians and IT people in the circles I travel in, and have noticed that when it comes to disinfecting a computer they tend to have these -to me- unnecessarily complicated ways of refreshing the USB after it's been used. My thoughts usually run along the lines of 'why not simply stop the computer being able to write to the usb?'. After a bit of research I've discovered is that all available ways to do this are either easily subverted, require cracking open the USB and soldering parts that might not even be there or cost a rediculous amount of money.