Mac not uploading Uno

I'm new to the Arduino world and I've been having issues with uploading anything to my new Arduino Uno. I'm using a Mac OS X version 10.4.11. Basically, whenever I hit upload to 1/0 board it says "stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x86" and then shortly after, "stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding". I can't find the board if I search the computer, but it is getting power from the computer. Thanks in advance for any light that can be shed on this situation.

Have you installed the driver? It comes in the .dmg with the Arduino IDE. Also, make sure you chose the right board (tools>board) and right port (tools>serial port).

baum:
Have you installed the driver? It comes in the .dmg with the Arduino IDE. Also, make sure you chose the right board (tools>board) and right port (tools>serial port).

I didn't think the Uno needed to install the drivers? (you're referring to the FTDI drivers?) I ended up doing it anyway because I'm a guy and don't read the instructions

(found the instructions)

3 | Install the Software

Copy the Arduino application into the Applications folder (or elsewhere on your computer). If you're using an Arduino Uno or Mga 2560, you don't have any drivers to install. Skip ahead to the next step.

Go ahead and follow these steps, if it still doesn't work, call again in the morning (yay doctor advice)

K. Can you list all of the options that are in the Serial Port menu?

The options in the serial port menu are as follows:

/dev/tty.usbmodem0000105D1
/dev/cu.usbmodem0000105D1
/dev/cu.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync
/dev/cu.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync
/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem
/dev/cu.Bluetooth-Modem

All of the Bluetooth ones are bluetooth (duh)... Which one are you selecting? You probably want the TTY one.
(It's odd, though. Mine is /dev/tty.usbserial-A800eFDb)

I also found this from ladyada:

http://www.ladyada.net/learn/arduino/help.html

See if that helps... mentions stk_500, but not your exact error.

Good Luck!