Autonomous Robot, problem with rc and gps

Hi all,

I'm new to Arduino and not sure where to post this. I'm working with an engineering friend to build an autonomous gps robot. The goal is to create an robot that will navigate a course using only gps coordinates, but also have a switch for manual control. We are using a Dagu Wild Thumper 4WD Chassis with a 7.2v battery, an Arduino Uno R3, two Pololu Dual VNH5019 Motor Shields, a Sparkfun GPS Shield with EM-406A GPS Module, and a Turnigy 9x v2 8 channel remote. We stacked all the boards on top of each other with the two motor shields on top of the Arduino and the gps shield on top of the motor shields. Individually, everything works fine. The motor shields run the motors fine with hard coded values. The remote connects fine and the Arduino IDE serial monitor shows the correct values when throttle/steering are pressed, and the gps reads position fine as well. The problem is trying to add in movement code to the test code.