Output Signal From Digital Pin to Switch Relay, Suggestions?

Greetings,

I'm using the G5LE PBC Relay. Datasheet here: http://www.kosmodrom.com.ua/pdf/G5LE.pdf

The goal is to turn a Relay on or off using a digital output from the Arduino so it can be done on-demand/dynamically. The relay when on, allows the throughput of a 12v, 1.5A power supply.

Currently, my set up is using Digital Pin 2 (also tried others) to output a signal to the Relay. The output from the Pin 2 when OUTPUT is HIGH is ~4v/~40mA (milliamps).

According to the Relay's datasheet, the relay requires the following volts/amps to switch:

• 3v@136mA
  • 5v@79mA
  • 6v@67mA
  • 9v@45mA
  • 12v@33mA
  • 24v@17mA
  • 48v@8mA

With the above listed data, I calculate it'd take a minimum of ~100mA+ at the 4v output to perform the switch, so the 40mA I'm receiving from Pin 2 isn't enough. Unfortunately I'm a noob still learning, so I didn't understand this when I purchased the relays.

The confusing thing for me however, is that while the Digital pin isn't capable of switching the relay, the direct 5v pin on the Arduino is. When I measure the "5v" pin, I read 4.1v @ 47mA which is barely more than Digital Pin's output is. If one doesn't work, I'm a bit confused why the other does.

That being said, what is the recommended course of action to provide the appropriate volts/amps to the relay to successfully perform and hold the switch?

• Buy a different relay requiring lower switching volts/amps, still allowing for 12v, 1.5A throughput? Would anyone be willing to offer some suggestions?
  • Add another relay (solid-sate or otherwise,) which when powering the Digital Pin, allows the throughput of the 5v Pin to power the relay?
  • Possibly swap voltage for amps? According to me calculations, even is volts dropped to 3.3, I'd only end up when 67mA when I'd need 136.
  • Something else I haven't considered?