Brass Horns, Pneumatic Solenoids, Air Compressor: Hardware Configuration Advice

Hello Interactive Art Arduino List,

My name is Margaret and I am a high school teacher and artist working in sound sculpture. I have technology literacy but I usually struggle. I am working towards making an outdoor motion sensor project controlled by an Arduino which activates pneumatic solenoids and an air compressor to play a set of vintage brass horns. I am stuck on what hardware elements to purchase to begin tests I was wondering if anyone had thoughts on the following:

• Universal fitting valves that snuggly attaches around vintage horns and connect to the airlines of a air compressor?

• What parts are needed to create a multi-pneumatic solenoid configuration where air can go to different horns at different times from the same compressor?

• Reliable all-weather motion sensor to activate Arduino sequence?

Thank you so much for your thoughts and advice!

Sincerely,

Margaret

Just curious - what are you using to provide the equivalent of vibrating lips to the brass horns? They need more than just air blowing in don't they?

Take a look here for air valve solenoids, there could be less expensive options available as well.

Will need a transistor per solenoid that Arduino can turn on/off as needed.

Outdoor motion sensor - you need to provide more info on how you anticipate that working, how sensitive, how reactive it should be, etc. Maybe a Passive Infra Red (PIR) could work, or be "tuned" to only sense a small area, maybe pressure sensors under a mat on the ground would be better, maybe InfraRed (IR) beam break sensors mounted horizontally would be better, etc.

Hi Crossroads,

Thank you so much for your reply.

Regarding your question: "Just curious - what are you using to provide the equivalent of vibrating lips to the brass horns? They need more than just air blowing in don't they?"