no life on LCD

Hi,

I can't get any life on to my lcd. What would be the reason?
I highly appreciate your help. I'm kinda new to all this.
BTW I haven't soldered it yet. The leaads are just bended there. Could that be the reason?

br
-orbitrek

This is my setting:
Imgur

This is my lcd:
http://www.messtechnik-online.at/bauelemente/pdf/162c.pdf

And the code I tried was those basic exaqmples from arduino.cc
E.G.

// include the library code:
 #include <LiquidCrystal.h>

// these constants won't change.  But you can change the size of
 // your LCD using them:
 const int numRows = 2;
 const int numCols = 16;

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
 LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup() {
   // set up the LCD's number of rows and columns: 
   lcd.begin(numRows, numCols);
 }

void loop() {
   // loop from ASCII 'a' to ASCII 'z':
   for (int thisLetter = 'a'; thisLetter <= 'z'; thisLetter++) {
     // loop over the rows:
     for (int thisRow= 0; thisRow < numRows; thisRow++) {
       // loop over the columns:
       for (int thisCol = 0; thisCol < numCols; thisCol++) {
         // set the cursor position:
         lcd.setCursor(thisCol,thisRow);
         // print the letter:
         lcd.print(thisLetter, BYTE);
         delay(200);
       }
     }
   }
 }

orbitrek

BTW I haven't soldered it yet. The leaads are just bended there. Could that be the reason?

Yes.

STOP RIGHT HERE. You would be better off soldering pins (or short stiff wires) to the LCD module so you can plug it into your breadboard.

Next you have to verify that you have the correct power applied and the correct contrast (potentiometer) setting. Do this before you connect the rest of the wires. Write back if you need more info about this part.