Problem with ShiftOut while also using ShiftIn

Hey, I am fairly new at programming and electronics although I have had some courses on C and electrical circuits from my degree (mechanical engineer), but its still difficult for me to troubleshoot my stuff alone. Long story short I am having some trouble with expanding the number of ins and outs on my arduino.

So to the problem.

I wanted to take the data that I am getting from my ShiftIn and send it to an array of LEDs using ShiftOut. Both the shiftin and shiftout seem to work independently. Working off of the examples here on the arduino website I can get my current set up for my shiftout to count up to 256 on the LEDS and I can also display the proper button presses using the serial window. The problem is when I try to combine these actions I can only get my LEDs to respond to the press of the "1" digit of the shiftin. When I do this, all 8 LEDs light up.

Most of my current code is taken straight from the examples of shiftout and shiftin on the site here.

Here is my code for Setup and Loop, the ShiftIn() is taken directly from the example code:

void setup() {
  //start serial
  Serial.begin(9600);

//define pin modes
  pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT); 
  pinMode(dataPin, INPUT);

pinMode(latchPinOut, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(clockPinOut, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dataPinOut, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {

//Pulse the latch pin:
  //set it to 1 to collect parallel data
  digitalWrite(latchPin,1);
  //set it to 1 to collect parallel data, wait
  delayMicroseconds(20);
  //set it to 0 to transmit data serially  
  digitalWrite(latchPin,0);

//while the shift register is in serial mode
  //collect each shift register into a byte
  //the register attached to the chip comes in first 
  switchVar1 = shiftIn(dataPin, clockPin);

//This is the data going out
  digitalWrite(latchPinOut, LOW);

shiftOut(dataPinOut, clockPinOut, MSBFIRST, switchVar1);

digitalWrite(latchPinOut, HIGH);

//Print out the results.