Ardunio C++ SUCKS!!!!

I started programming back in the early 1970's with Basic. I am not a great programmer but in Basic I can pretty much kind of get the job done. I am aware of modern programming ideas (years ago I did a little home programming in Pascal) like subroutines, reusable code, etc. but C++ seems terrible limiting in its structure for doing the programing easily . There are no subroutine calls. Labels seem to be not doable (no real goto statement... I know that is a no-no). And the Ardunio compiler is very poorly documented as to the required structure.

I got my program to compile but I am not ready for testing as some of the hardware is still in the mail to me. What is missing is a cookbook on the structure of C++ with complete programming templates. Examples don't do it! A list of variable types, functions, etc, is not a guide to making a program. Most of the examples vary in implementation enough to lead to confusion (at least for me). So here was my approach, right or wrong, you tell me.

The main program is in a loop looking for a start switch closure. It then calls a custom function (I guess that is a C++ subroutine??) that looks for one of four detector triggers or a stop switch closure, in a loop. Each detector trigger calls one of two different custom functions to energize and de-enrgize some relays. It then returns to the detection process. It only returns to the startup loop if it finds a stop switch closure in the detection process.