Go Down

Topic: How Many Photoresistors can I use . . .? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Zwithak

I have an idea for a project (for school) that includes the usage of photoresistors. I'm new to Arduino but I have time to learn how to use it, but before I try and continue with this project I would like to know how many photoresistors can I connect to an arduino unit and if there is a way to increase the maximum (staying within a $120 budget mind you; it's a group project so the cost is split).

Currently I would like to be able to utilize 6 photoresistors and be able to send information to my computer from these resistors. I plan on taking that data and running it through a program and depending on a combination of true-false statements I would create outputs (basically if they are receiving above a light level or not).

If this is possible please let me know, I've only seen people connect a single photoresistor from a breadboard --> arduino --> computer and noted there is a finite number of ports on the Arduino that can be accessed so I'm sure there is a limit but I'm not sure what it is.

Also, is there a way I can circumvent the Arduino entirely and connect the breadboard to my laptop?

capicoso

Yes, you can connect six LDRs. Each one on each analog input. If you want you can expand your analog inputs with multiplexers 4051(8 in) 4067(16 in) or others... With 6 4067 for each analog input you can have up to 96 LDRs.
Once your project is finished, if you have an arduino UNO or olders which have the atmega328 as a DIP with a socket, you can take it off the arduino, and build it with few components on the breadboard, but, the usb part is hard, what most do is power if from the dc jack ... but you need to communicate to your computer, i don't know which protocol you would use, if you need usb or not...

JimboZA