Encapsulating an existing class

Hello

I need help setting up two classes to work 'cooperatively'!

I hope to state it as simply as possible.

Two classes:

• Child, many instances exist
  • Parent, only one instance exists, manages all Child instances
  • Child class exists as a library on this site, it works well, and I wish not to change it
  • Child class is setup with a function pointer to callback a 'general function'
  • I wish the child to callback functions in parent instead
  • It would be nice if no hard-coding or explicit dependency on 'ParentClass' were required;
    in other words, I may wish to use the Child class with a different FatherClass or MotherClass;
    I hope not to have to go back to modify Child class for this;

What follows are snippets/simplification of Child/Parent classes as I imagine them.

I have embedded comments where I need help.

Any and all comments are very well appreciated.

BTW: I am an experienced VB programmer, and so not a total newbie.
However, I am completely foreign to C++, and have only recently been exposed to pointers and references.
Any links to relevant material to help me understand will also be appreciated.

Ron!

<Child.h>
//A Child will have sibling instances, children, created by Parent;
//Under specific conditions, a child method (eg. Child.Enter, Child.Exit, ...) will be invoked;
// This Child then to calls back a corresponding unique Parent.Method;
Class Child()
Public
Child::Child(); //Child constructor;
// I am not sure if the following 2 pointers are required to accomplish what I want;
// I need help with the following construct;
Child::Setup(void *parentObject, void *parentFunction());
void fn();

Private
void *ptToParent;
void *ptToParentFn();

<Child.cpp>
Child::Child() {}; //Child constructor;
Child::Setup(void *parentObject, void *parentFunction());
// I need help with the following two constructs;
ptToParent = parentObject
ptToParentFn = parentFunction;
}