Help needed! Noob wants to make moving costumes!

Hi,

I'm a costume designer making outfits for a steampunk burlesque performance. I have been searching on the internet for ways to incorporate moving parts (like cogs and gears that would rotate) into the outfits.

I was wondering if anyone had done this with the lilypad and what components I would need ( a small motor?) to rotate the cogs?

Ideally i would like the components to be slimline like the lilypad, but bulkier solutions will be appriciated just as much.

Thanks,

Lana

Sounds like a job for a servo.

First of all, as a steampunk who is just getting into Arduino programming, welcome.

Now from your message, it sounds like you are new to programming, etc. If you are not, feel free to ignore all of this blather.

Before going on, I would suggest you think about all of the effects that you might want to put in the project.

• Do you just want gears moving all of the time during the show, or do you want a gear moving and then stopping based on some signal?
  • Do you want gears to speed up/slow down/reverse direction, or do you just want the gears spinning all of the time?
  • Do you want several gears going at the same time?
  • If you do have several gears going, do you want them programmed independently, or will all gears operate together?
  • What is your budget?
  • What is your time frame for building the project?
  • How long do the gears need to operate, which in turn determines how much battery power you need?
  • How much mechanical skill do you have? How about programming skill?

Generally with projects like this, you don't want a big bang theory where you need to have all effects working all at once, but you want to start smaller, and add effects one at a time. This way, if you run out of money or time, you still have some working effects.