DC Motor + PIR Sensor

Hi

I am a MA Fine art student doing kinetic sculpture and still getting to grips using my Arduino Uno but slowly getting there.

I'm trying to get a DC motor to turn on with a PIR sensor when motion is sensed using a Arduino UNO. I've been able to get both the DC motor and the sensor to work separately but i'm struggling with the code.

Can anyone Help or link me to anything that may help ?

Many thanks
James

Post your best attempt at coding it and we'll help you sort it out. You'll need to say what it currently does and exactly what you want it to do.

Steve

I'll be honest the code i've gotten too muddled with.

Currently it does nothing but what i want it to do is when the sensor detects motion , i want the motor to stop then to start again when the sensor detects no motion.

James

Then post the two separate programs that read the PIR and run the motor and say what problems you're having trying to combine them. General instructions for combining two sketches can be found at Merging Code

(The way it works is we don't really like just writing programs for people. When you make an attempt and then you get help fixing it you'll learn something.)

Steve

I'll be honest i need to learn it myself and i'm still learning basics. Thanks for the link

James

int sensor = 7;              // the pin that the sensor is atteched to
int state = HIGH;             // by default, no motion detected
int val = 0;                 // variable to store the sensor status (value)
#define ENABLE 5
#define DIRA 3
#define DIRB 4

int i;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:

pinMode(sensor, INPUT);    // initialize sensor as an input
  pinMode(ENABLE,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIRA,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIRB,OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  val = digitalRead(sensor);   // read sensor value
  if (val == HIGH) {           // check if the sensor is HIGH