New First Project

Good Morning All,

I am totally new to the Arduino world and have been tinkering around with the Mega for a litt while now. I have a project in mind but would like some input from the more experienced individuals her before I dive fully into is and get discusted because of not undersatandin the functionality of these mocrocontrollers.Here is what i am looking for and I will put it in as much detail without revealing the whole project and maybe as i go along can share the finished project with the public.

I would like to use a 4 button fr remote to control 3 inputs on the Arduino The first button on the remote will turn the Arduino on and off. The second button i want to control different code each time it is pressed up to lets say 15 times. the third button i would like to be able to reset those 15 stored button presses and return to the top of the program and lastly i want the 4 th button to control a digital pot / or maybe stepped input values meaning each time the button is pressed the value will increase by 10, and be reset by the third button.

For now i am looking for an outline to lay out these functions and will insert the code to do the functions.

dbitting:
I would like to use a 4 button fr remote to control 3 inputs on the Arduino The first button on the remote will turn the Arduino on and off. The second button i want to control different code each time it is pressed up to lets say 15 times. the third button i would like to be able to reset those 15 stored button presses and return to the top of the program and lastly i want the 4 th button to control a digital pot / or maybe stepped input values meaning each time the button is pressed the value will increase by 10, and be reset by the third button.

Receiving IR inputs is well within the capability of the Arduino.