LM35 accuracy

Hi,

I just started playing around with Arduino and try to get things together for a kind of home automation project.
I connected three LM35 to my Arduino and got it all working - fine.

Now:
The three sensors all read different values - I'm not surprised :wink:
But:
For example they read: 26.2, 26.5 and 27.2

The "guaranteed" accuracy of the LM35 is +-0.5°. Does this mean, that I can get a quite GOOD value (depending on ref. voltage, circuit quality etc) if I can find 2 LM35 which deliver results that are far apart? Would a "very" accurate value be the average of the two sensors in THIS case?
Or ist this just plain nonsense, and +-1 is the best I could get anyway with such cheap setup?

I do not really care for the current project, because I only have to distinguish between very cold, cold, medium, hot and very hot - more or less :wink:

Also, it is in the nature of the beast... "things" other than the temperature will be having an effect, e.g. the resistance in the wire between the Arduino and the sensor, and induced voltages.

The Dallas 1-Wire chips are fancier, need a LITTLE more work to master, but well worth it...

They measure the temperature in the chip, and then send that as a digital signal to the Arduino... little wobbles in the circuitry between sensor and Arduino have no effect.

There are fancy answers to reading the Dallas chips... the DS18B20 is a popular choice... and simpler answers. For one of the latter....

(That is written in the context of a Nuelectronics shield... which you do not need AT ALL to use the code on the tutorial page. The shield just (slightly) simplifies the connection of the sensor to the Arduino, on a physical level.)

ok, say I'm using DS18S20 instead ... the "problem" remains :wink: