Arduino Uno, Xbee Chip, Xbee Arduino Shield Pair

I'm trying to get a pair of arduino Uno using Xbee Chip with Xbee arduino shields communicating.

I am new to Arudinos and their development environment..
but basically what I'm trying to accomplish is:

One Side:
Arduino-->Xbee/Arduino Sheild--->Xbee
transmit something

Other Side:
Arduino-->Xbee/Arduino Sheild--->Xbee
receive something

its sounds pretty straight forward, but i'm struggling with this a little.
I want to make sure the hardware is setup correct then I can deal with the software and how to get a basic tx/rx program downloaded on the boards.

Thanks!

This should get you started down the right path: Tutorial 9 for Arduino: Wireless Communication – JeremyBlum.com

Why would you buy a shield and not buy the 50 cents worth of headers and use it as a shield?

what are headers?

DeathByToast:
This should get you started down the right path: Tutorial 9 for Arduino: Wireless Communication – JeremyBlum.com

Thanks for the link, I will try it now

I was using X-CTU to change the PAN ID and the Destination Address Low which are changable.
But for some reason the "MY - 16-bit Network Address" is read only. It won't let me change it..
Any ideas?

I was using X-CTU to change the PAN ID and the Destination Address Low which are changable.
But for some reason the "MY - 16-bit Network Address" is read only. It won't let me change it..
Any ideas?

If you want the XBees to talk to each other just exchanging serial data, you have the wrong Function Set selected. The Function Set defines what settings are used/alterable.

which function set should be selected?

I changed the Function Set to all the different ones, but not able to change/configure the " MY - 16-bit Network Address"

??

Are you sure it's supposed to be using the XB24 ZB set? I have series 1's with antennas and I am using just XB24 and the default function set.

This is the transciever that I'm using. I think its series 2.