Beginner Question about general circuit in tutorials.

Hello All,
I am new to the wonderful world of Arduino and am enjoying my discoveries.

I was playing with a tutorial for beginner sketch / schematic and something about it looked wrong to me - it was a simple RGB LED schematic. It had power from Arduino going to the breadboard and ground going from the Arduino to the breadboard, then the common / ground pin of the RGB LED was connected to ground, and the R, G, B pins from the RGB LED were connected to digital pins 9, 10, 11 on the Arduino.

What I could not figure out was why the power was connected from the Arduino to the breadboard and then never used. I unplugged it and the RGB LED continued to loop through its colors.

I felt really satisfied that I had confirmed my suspicion that the power jumper was in fact serving no purpose. Then I had to ask, why was it included in the schematic in the first place ? It must have been designed by somebody far smarter that I am when it comes to electronics ???

Is there some universal electronics rule that requires power to alway be pulled from the source ?

If you experts need more info or a picture of the schematic I can provide that. When I look at the true schematic in the tutorial booklet that I'm working from I do in fact not see any reference to power at all so at least that part seems correct. Do the digital pins 9, 10 and 11 provide some source of power ??

Many thanks for any insights and for not laughing out loud at this noob :slight_smile:

Uh, yeah, a schematic is necessary.

It is typical to connect up the power rails of the breadboard. it was likely done out of habit.
I hope that resistors were included for the LED.

It must have been designed by somebody far smarter that I am when it comes to electronics

Not a good assumption. You will be amazed at how much very bad advice you can find about wiring Arduinos on the web -- advice that can end up destroying your Arduino.