8x4 Bicolor LED Matrix Question

Hello all!

I'm a newbie here but I'm picking things up at a pretty good rate. I'm working on a project that has several different functions, some of which I've already tested successfully. When I want to do something specific I research it first before buying any parts needed and that's helped save me some money. I've got the exclusive 1-of-8 part working fine, the encoder code is working, and the increment/decrement button routines are functioning perfectly, including debounce and the hold-to-speed-up feature. I'm getting pretty close to finishing the code snippets for parameter storage in EEPROM (will be replaced with FRAM later), but I'll flesh all that out once the rest of the sections are tested and working.

But ... there's one section (so far) where I'm not sure which direction to go.

What I need is an 8x4 matrix of green/red bicolor LEDs where all the LEDs are green except for one selected LED. Only the selected LED would be red, all others green. When another is selected the new LED goes red and the previously selected LED goes green. I've seen where people want to light up columns, boxes, etc., but not where all are the same color but one.

I've read posts about using shift registers and Maxim LED matrix drivers, but I'm thinking that might be overkill for what, to me at least, appears to be something fairly simple. Maybe it's not simple and I'm just being naive, I don't know, I just can't seem to work out the logic. In my simulations I can get complete rows or columns to light up but that about all. I have plenty of pins available on my Mega, even a pin for each row and column is doable (and then some).

Can anyone suggest a direction? If there's a way to do it in code that's fine, else if hardware is better I'd be fine with that too, though all the tuts I've read are based on rows, columns, smiles, frowns, etc. - no single LEDs - so I'd have to figure that out. I'd appreciate any advice.

Thanks in advance!