Relay for automating my garden

I've only done basic things with my arduino so i can say im a complete noob to it, blink worked, some more simple test circuits. I cant really follow along with circuit diagrams because i dont know all the symbols yet. So what im trying to do is automate my garden, really simple though, i want to have the arduino turn the pump on for 5 minutes every day. So basically, turn on pump for 5 minutes, then sleep 24 hours, do it again.
I have an GS-SH205T relay that says DC5V, my pump is an [ecoplus 185 3V pump[/url]. Im assuming that since the relay says 5V it should be able to power this pump no problem. So i have all the parts, the problem now is i dont know how to set up the relay. Heres a picture of my circuit.
I read the box wrong, its 120V, my relay wont work at all. Either way, how do i set up a relay?

one on the left goes to digital output, and the other go ground(obviously)
The transistor(?) im using is an LM7812
Since transistors(?) have different pin layouts i had to figure it out, this one goes
| | |
IN GND OUT
This circuit was a simple test to see if i could even control the relay at all, i dont know how to wire it. The tutorials on youtube were only slightly helpful, i probably watched about 5 of them. This circuit was just a simple test for me to see how relays work.
I know theres the garduino tutorial, and once i figure out how the relay works im going to probably be following this

I tried putting an LED near on the end of the relay and that didnt work either. So i cannot figure it out. Does anyone know what im (clearly) doing wrong?[/s]
](http://www.amazon.com/EcoPlus-185-Submersible-Pump-GPH/dp/B0018WVNXC)

0xicl33n:
The transistor(?) im using is an LM7812

Since transistors(?) have different pin layouts i had to figure it out, this one goes

| | |
IN GND OUT

That's no transistor, it's a 12V voltage regulator. So, put that to one side.

You want an N-channel MOSFET transistor, wired something like this: