Arduino Forum

Using Arduino => Installation & Troubleshooting => Topic started by: Ludo91 on Sep 22, 2012, 05:35 pm

Title: FTDI gone? How to bypass it?
Post by: Ludo91 on Sep 22, 2012, 05:35 pm
Hi,
My arduino mega 1280 works propely, that means, it executes the sketch it currently has in its memory.
Problem is, if i plug it to the computer it says "device not recognized", so I assume the bulit-in ftdi converter is dead. How can i still program the atmega using a "common" ftdi adapter??
Title: Re: FTDI gone? How to bypass it?
Post by: retrolefty on Sep 22, 2012, 05:45 pm

Hi,
My arduino mega 1280 works propely, that means, it executes the sketch it currently has in its memory.
Problem is, if i plug it to the computer it says "device not recognized", so I assume the bulit-in ftdi converter is dead. How can i still program the atmega using a "common" ftdi adapter??


By wiring the send and receive TTL serial signal lines from the new ftdi to pins 0 and 1 (or is that 1 and 0, I always get in mixed up  ;) ) on the arduino mega shield connector, plus a ground wire from the FTDI adapter to a arduino ground pin, and you should be back in business.

But first you should check to make sure you don't just have a corrupted or missing FTDI USB driver in your PC. Try deleting it and re-installing the FTDI driver and see if that works before going with a new external FTDI serial cable.

Lefty
Title: Re: FTDI gone? How to bypass it?
Post by: eried on Sep 22, 2012, 07:08 pm
Also you can buy another ftdi and replace it without too much troubles, just normal soldering iron.
Title: Re: FTDI gone? How to bypass it?
Post by: Lakes on Sep 22, 2012, 07:27 pm
With a steady hand and good eyesight... :)

http://fightpc.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/mending-my-mistakes.html (http://fightpc.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/mending-my-mistakes.html)

I would not do it that way (with a hot air gun) myself, if you are really 100% sure the chip is dead, carefully cut the legs from the body and then desolder whats left.
Title: Re: FTDI gone? How to bypass it?
Post by: Ludo91 on Sep 25, 2012, 06:21 pm
It did worked wiring to the serial 0 tx `n` rx, many thanks to all of you.