Getting a webpage with Wiznet ethernet shield

Evening all!

Arduino newbie here. I'm a pretty technical person, so no need to be gentle - however, my networking knowledge is somewhat limited, and that is where this project is falling over.

I've got an UNO talking to a Wiznet ethernet shield. My aim is to 'get' this website: www.bramblemet.co.uk/wap/, then have a look at the numbers and move a needle on a dial so I have an indication of windspeed without actually checking the 'net.

I'm stuck at the first hurdle: I can't get the website. I can make HTTP requests to other sites just fine, but the site above does something funky that I don't understand. My code is simply the ethernet web client example with the ip address changed to point it at the right server.

I've tried various HTTP requests, but they all end in errors being sent back from the server.

/*
  Web client

This sketch connects to a website (http://www.google.com)
 using an Arduino Wiznet Ethernet shield. 

Circuit:
 * Ethernet shield attached to pins 10, 11, 12, 13

created 18 Dec 2009
 by David A. Mellis

*/

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

// Enter a MAC address and IP address for your controller below.
// The IP address will be dependent on your local network:
byte mac[] = {  0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
byte ip[] = { 192,168,1,177 };
byte server[] = { 217,174,242,1 }; // Bramblemet server

// Initialize the Ethernet client library
// with the IP address and port of the server 
// that you want to connect to (port 80 is default for HTTP):
Client client(server, 80);

void setup() {
  // start the Ethernet connection:
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);
  // start the serial library:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // give the Ethernet shield a second to initialize:
  delay(1000);
  Serial.println("connecting...");

// if you get a connection, report back via serial:
  if (client.connect()) {
    Serial.println("connected");
    // Make a HTTP request:
    client.println("GET /wap/ HTTP/1.0");