ultrasonic sensors works fine until i merge codes into it

hey everyone newbie here, I am currently working on a project which uses 2 ultrasonic sensors basically, the code works fine when testing only ultrasonic but when I merge into the main code ultrasonic doesn't work.
thanks in advance

//for ultraSonic Sensor 1
//-----------------------
  const byte echoPin = 2; // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor 1.
  const byte trigPin = 3; // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor 1.
//for ultraSonic Sensor 2
//-----------------------
  const byte echo2Pin = 4; // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor 2.
  const byte trig2Pin = 5; // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor 2.

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
    //communication channel baetween hardware and software with baud rate of (9600)
    Serial.begin (9600);
    //-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    //ultrasonic sensors trigger and echo pin modes trigger pins on pwms
    //------------------------------------------------------------------
    pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);
    pinMode(trig2Pin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(echo2Pin, INPUT);
    //------------------------------------------------------------------
}
void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
    unsigned long sensor1 = range (trigPin, echoPin);
    delay(30);
    unsigned long sensor2 = range (trig2Pin, echo2Pin);
    delay(30);

Serial.print("Distance: ");
    Serial.println(sensor1);// + "\t" + sensor2);
}

unsigned long range (byte trig, byte echo)
{
digitalWrite(trig, LOW);
delayMicroseconds(10);
digitalWrite(trig, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(10);
digitalWrite(trig, LOW);
unsigned long duration = pulseIn(echo, HIGH);
return duration/58.2;
}