"Sniffing" Cell phone Communication

Hi ,i am fairly new to arduino an i was wondering.Is there any way i can interfere an arduino with some extra shield or something to a cell phone communication and read the data transmitted.

To make it straight when my sister talks to her ugly boyfriend from her cell phone can i sniff their conversation with my arduino connected of course to my pc and read the data transmitted.... :stuck_out_tongue: 8) :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: ]:slight_smile:

P.S Seriously, i know that even if i receive the data i won't be able to decode it so it would be just a cool project....

Well, you need to be licensed to TRANSMIT for those bands.. and although there is significant precedent that passive reception of a signal doesn't mean misuse.. however, cell data is that-- data. Encrypted data, no less.. and the moment you actively try to decrypt that means you are no longer a passive receiver.. in fact you are violating laws that will get you sent away for a very very long time. Might just get you sent someplace where people just don't come back from. Hate your sister enough to get Waterboarded a couple times a day for a decade or so? LOL

For example, I've got a scanner that I purchased before certain laws came into play, which can do something called Active Trunk Tracking. With this scanner, you can follow hop-frequency communications, like state police and federal organizations. It's probably a gray area, but I don't think these are available any more, or have certain bands blocked out. I've also got an older scanner that easily handles most 800-900Mhz cordless phones made before, say, 2004- if I want to set it up to do so. About twenty years back I owned a specialized technician's Uniden transceiver handheld that violates at least a dozen FCC laws today.. including operating in transmit modes fully though all restricted bands including most police, fire, and aircraft/marine bands.

Just because you can do a thing doesn't mean you should.