Completely New

I've never used an Arduino before, but I think what I am trying to accomplish is not very difficult. Essentially it is a remote with buttons where each button sends out a RF signal. When a specific RF receiver gets this signal, then it triggers a motor. I drew a crude picture of how I think it would look. I watched a video of a guy who had used these XBee devices. One sent a signal to another, and they both were hooked up to these shields which were hooked up to the Arduino Boards. While he was able to get this to work, I don't think all of that would be necessary for what I am trying to accomplish. I may be wrong, but if this can be done a simpler way (so without 2 boards and 2 shields and 2 Xbee's) what would need to be used? The reason I say this is because the goal is to have a large number of switches each sending messages to different receivers (in the attached diagram I only have 3, but probably in total maybe 6). All of these would add up pretty expensive. Thanks in advance for any and all help. Also I'm not sure if I need one transmitter for each switch or not, so I only put one in the outline.

Here is the picture:

Welcome :slight_smile:

I have downloaded a e-book called:

Make - Arduino Bots and Gadgets - Six Embedded Projects with Open Source Hardware and Software

In this book they are hacking a remote control (that controls outlets, see image) and make it controlled by Arduino. See if you can download that book too!

Thank you for showing me this. I looked at this book quickly and will have more time to look at it tomorrow, but from what I have seen chapter 7 seems similar to what I want to do. However like I said I am completely new to this, so I'll probably have my fair share of questions since this is somewhat different from my goal.

I made a 16 button RF remote control with a Promini and 434 MHz transmitter.
On a button press, the promini wakes up, sends the key pressed, goes back to sleep.