First time programming anything here.

Hi guys,

This is my first post. Im just getting into the arduino world and decided to try to build a robot. I am using an arduino uno, a ping ultrasonic sensor, and two springrc continuous rotation servos for my wheels.

I have used a program to control the servos successfully. I have used a program to use the ping successfully. The problem develops when I integrate the two. When the servos and ping are both in the program, the ping stops reading and shows 0's in the serial monitor. If i disconnect the servos' signal wires from the arduino then the ping works again fine, but as soon as one is plugged in, it no longer functions properly. I am unsure if the problem is something electrical or a problem with my program, so I am turning to you guys for help! Here is my code, its not done but it should be enough to identify a problem in the code if one exists

const int pingPin = 11;
const int servoR = 9;
const int servoL = 10;

long duration, inches, cm;

void setup()
{
   // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode (servoR,OUTPUT);
  pinMode (servoL,OUTPUT);
}

void go() {
  if (inches > 2){
  analogWrite(servoR, 170);
  analogWrite(servoL, 170);
  }
  else
  {

// BLAH BLAH havent worked out the turning routine yet but it will go here

}
}

void ping() {
  {
  // establish variables for duration of the ping, 
  // and the distance result in inches and centimeters:

// The PING))) is triggered by a HIGH pulse of 2 or more microseconds.
  // Give a short LOW pulse beforehand to ensure a clean HIGH pulse:
  pinMode(pingPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(5);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);

// The same pin is used to read the signal from the PING))): a HIGH
  // pulse whose duration is the time (in microseconds) from the sending
  // of the ping to the reception of its echo off of an object.
  pinMode(pingPin, INPUT);