Storing Data

Hey everyone!

I have a project where in I have to count number of rotations the wheel makes. So i have put up an IR sensor and using Arduino UNo i am counting the rotations made by the wheel. Now after I shut down the board I want to start counting from where i have left from the previous count. Please help me with this.What should be the code for this? I am new to Arduino so I dont know many libraries and the access to it. Please help me asap.. :~ :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

There is just one good way to do that: EEPROM : http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/EEPROM

thanxs.. but can i write at a particular memory location repeatedly?

Atmel has an app. note AN101 regarding EEPROM .

but can i write at a particular memory location repeatedly?

You can. There is a limited number of write cycles available, but that number is greater than 100,000.

Why do you need to keep counting from the same value? Are you implementing some kind of hour-meter?

PaulS:

but can i write at a particular memory location repeatedly?

You can. There is a limited number of write cycles available, but that number is greater than 100,000.

Why do you need to keep counting from the same value? Are you implementing some kind of hour-meter?

Please i need to save data when shudown the board and i use eeprom but i'm worry because i use it 300 time in day i don't know you mean we use it 100,000 for one register nor 100,000 for 256 (all register) and i want to know if it safe or not ,

, if i use SD card ,Is it better than eeprom or not ?
,if SD better ,How i save data with address ?

100.000 times for each location in the EEPROM.
100.000 / 300 times a day = 333 days (less than a year).

An SD card uses a filesystem. So you create a file and you can write to that file. An SD card uses flash memory which is almost the same technology as the EEPROM. So writing the SD card too often could be a problem, perhaps not when writing data, but when updating the file system.