1st Arduino Project

Complete novice here. Both projects are car related, 12v DC, one will be used to shift gears on an automatic transmission when the selector is in "sports" mode. The other project is a little more difficult, getting my steering wheel audio controls to function.... this one I'm still trying to get my head around - will update when I have more information.

My plan is to use the cruise control stick on the steering wheel. Which has 12v going in and outputs a different voltage depending which action is used on the cruise control stick.

The transmission shifter has three micro switches used in sports mode. I'm yet to check the voltages at each switch but believe they are all 12v in/12v out. The first switch tells the transmission ECU (TCU) that is in sports mode and to listen for signals (on/off) from the remaining micro switches. The remaining switches tell the transmission to shift up or shift down.

The way I see this working is with an Arduino unit a changeover relay and two on/off relays.

What I need help with is building a shopping list of everything I'd need to complete the job. Including which Arduino would be best and a suitable enclosure for the Arduino unit.

Okay... So, I'mn pressing on with this. The first stage anyway. I've created a wiring diagram, if that helps.

The first thing you'll need to do is sort out signal level translation, the Arduino only works with 5v, outputting 12v or 7v through it will kill it (Shift_Down)

I guess the best thing to do would be to feed the output from the selector (I'm not sure why it's labelled as Audio?) through a voltage divider to divide it by 3, giving the maximum voltage as 4v. Analog pins can cope with the variation below this fine.

outputting 12v or 7v through it will kill it

No it won't. It won't be possible, but no harm will come from trying.

PaulS:

My mistake, but the problem remains as it won't shift down either!

spynappels:

PaulS: